Gloucestershire Historic Churches Trust

All Time Ride+Stride Prize Winners

You are here: Ride+Stride » Results » All-time Prize Winners

Useful links: Event Maps | Document Library | Sitemap | Help

This page lists every winner of our five trophies since we started awarding them.

Winners of the Whitbread Trophy (Best under 16)

With 9 different winners, a special mention must go to Leah for 3 wins, Sabrina, Emily and Ryan for 2 wins and Saul church for providing more than one winner from their church! We must try to encourage more under 16s to take part if we can so dont forget to mention there is a £50 cash prize that goes with this cup!

2003Paul BroadSt Mary the Virgin, Hawkesbury Upton2013Eva Bolton LakeSt. James the Great, Saul
2004William BoydSt Mary the Virgin, Fairford2014Ryan ConverySt. Nicholas, Ashchurch
2005Sabrina CatchesideSt Lawrence, Longney2015Ella ShaftoeSt Peter, Southrop
2006Sabrina CatchesideSt Lawrence, Longney2016Bethany-Louise BrownSt Barnabas, Warmley
2007Emily BuckAll Saints, Cold Salperton
2008Leah GloverSt. James the Great, Saul
2009Leah GloverSt. James the Great, Saul
2010Leah GloverSt. James the Great, Saul
2011Ryan ConverySt. Nicholas, Ashchurch
2012Emily BuckAll Saints, Cold Salperton

Winners of the John Cannan Cup (Best 16-69 year old)

Another good spread of winners in our widest age range section. Special mentions to Robin for the 3 wins and Jamie for the 2 wins and Edward and Louisa from Coln Rogers, still going strong.

2003John EvansSt Mary the Virgin, Beverston2013Robin GilbertSt. Mary the Virgin, Great Witcombe
2004Phillipa HunterSt Mary the Virgin, Fairford2014Edward BagnallSt Andrew, Coln Rogers
2005Patricia AldridgeAll Saints, Uplands2015Jane LloydSt Michael and All Angels, Bishops Cleeve
2006Jamie EykynSt Peter, Dunitisbourne Abbotts2016Louisa BurdettSt Andrew, Coln Rogers and St James, Coln St Dennis
2007Celia CarterHoly Cross, Avening
2008Jamie EykynSt Peter, Dunitisbourne Abbotts
2009Thomas and Christine Seager BerryHoly Rood, Daglingworth
2010Robin GilbertSt Mary the Virgin, Great Witcombe
2011Nigel Hugh-SmithSt John the Baptist, Coln St Aldwyns
2012Robin GilbertSt Mary the Virgin, Great Witcombe

Winners of the Holmes Salver (Best 70+)

We have had 9 winners of this salver and that is good to see. Revd Michael Hand tops the board with 3 wins but there are 3 others who have won it twice and Bryan Taylor is ready to join him on 3 wins if he takes 2017! Five individual wins make the remaining years in this fiercely competitive race to the top from our fantastic 70+ rock solid supporters!

2003DJP Gilmore, Oddington2013Revd Michael Hand, Winchcombe
2004DJP Gilmore, Oddington2014Alison Eldridge, Cherington
2005Adrian Goodman, Coln St Aldwyn2015Revd Michael Hand, Winchcombe
2006Christopher Kaines, Ebrington2016Bryan Taylor, Dowdeswell
2007Christopher Kaines, Ebrington
2008Sue Catcheside RIP, Longney and Elmore
2009Michael Stevens, Woolstone
2010Sally Worsley, Hatherop
2011Bryan Taylor, Dowdeswell
2012Revd Michael Hand, Winchcombe

Winners of the Eykyn Challenge Cup (Best Group)

Only 4 churches have ever won this cup and it is the only one to have been won by someone outside the Church of England, come back to us Stroud Catholic Church! The Coln River Group of Parishes have won it a staggering 8 times, St Michael and All Angels, Dowdeswell have won it a fantastic 4 times and are around to win again and St Andrew and St Bartholomew, Churchdown won it on their first attempt. Dont forget you must have at least 3 people to be eligible as a Group.

2003Stroud Catholic Church2013Coln River Group of Parishes
2004St Michael, Dowdeswell2014Coln River Group of Parishes
2005St Michael, Dowdeswell2015Coln River Group of Parishes
2006St Michael, Dowdeswell2016St Andrew and St Barts, Churchdown
2007St Michael, Dowdeswell
2008Coln River Group of Parishes
2009Coln River Group of Parishes
2010Coln River Group of Parishes
2011Coln River Group of Parishes
2012Coln River Group of Parishes

Winners of the GHCT Challenge Shield (Best Church)

Only 8 churches have ever won this shield. St Michael and All Angels, Dowdeswell have won this 8 times, St Edward, Evenlode have won it 6 times and 5 churches have won the remaining 5 years.

1998St Edward, Evenlode£15012011St Michael & All Angels, Dowdeswell£1972
1999St Edward, Evenlode£36842012St Michael & All Angels, Dowdeswell£1886
2000St Edward, Evenlode£43182013St Michael & All Angels, Dowdeswell£1757
2001St Edward, Evenlode£16982014St Michael & All Angels, Dowdeswell£1938
2002St Edward, Evenlode£17682015St Peter, Winchcombe£1960
2003St Mary, Beverston£20062016St Michael & All Angels, Dowdeswell£1478
2004St Thomas, Fairford£2722
2005St Peter & St Paul, Northleach£1468
2006St Eadburgha, Ebrington£1437
2007St Michael & All Angels, Dowdeswell£1444
2008St Michael & All Angels, Dowdeswell£1519
2009Holy Rood, Daglingworth£2872
2010St Michael & All Angels, Dowdeswell£2169

Help us to help

We provide thousands of pounds in grants every year to maintain churches throughout Gloucestershire, but we can only do that with your continued support. Please help us continue our vital work.

To create your own JustGiving Fundraising page, visit the JustGiving page on this website (off the Ride+Stride menu item).

Text GHCT17 £10 to 70070 to donate £10 to GHCT. You can donate £1, £2, £3, £4, £5 or £10 only. Vodafone will reply with a link to a form to add Gift Aid or a message. You may be charged for the text message(s). See for help. Please report any issues.

Donate now

Donations handled by JustGiving.